Flags of the Nations: Ecuador

The red, green, and blue are the colors of South American revolutionist and adventurer  Francisco de Miranda. Yellow is the color of the federation, red is said to indicate courage, and blue symbolizes independence from Spain. The centered coat of arms is topped with a condor. 

Since September 1, 2009, the Church of the Nazarene's Global Ministry Center (GMC) proudly flies a flag each week of one of the many nations in which the denomination is present in ministry. Leaders were invited to send a national flag to be flown at the GMC alongside the flag of the United States*. The national flags rotate weekly, and photos of them raised are sent to the church leaders of that country.

This week: Ecuador

The Church of the Nazarene officially entered Ecuador in 1972.

Ecuador had a population of 16,498,502 in 2018. That same year, Ecuador reported 250 Churches of the Nazarene, 213 of which have been officially organized. Ecuador has 22,129 total members.

Located on the South America Region, Ecuador has three Phase 3 districts, one Phase 2 district, and two Phase 1 districts. For more information about the South America Region, visit samnaz.org.

* = The weekly highlighted flag is raised on the middle of three poles in compliance with U.S. government protocols. It flies to the left of the GMC host-nation United States flag, which flies above the host-state flag of Kansas. The Christian flag flies on the third pole.

The Global Ministry Center is the mission and service hub of the Church of the Nazarene.

Posted in: